Audience Research 2

In this survey I asked a serious of questions to help me get an idea of what style of documentary an audience would want to see. I recieved 11 responses from people who do and don’t watch documentaries so I can get an idea of what would appeal to those who don’t.

I asked the audience if they prefer to watch documentaries with a host or a narrator with 54.5% saying narrator and 45.5% saying host. This had come to a bit of surprise to me due to the fact that I wanted to include myself in the documentary as a host instead of narrating as football is something that I am very passionate about. I know that the audience prefer documentaries without a host however I feel like having a host would fit a lot better with my theme which is why I will continue to have one.

90.9% of the people who took the survey prefer a documentary which includes a mixture of both interviews and action which is what I was planning to do with my documentary so I am glad that I have an awarenesss of what audiences want to see.

I gave the survey takers an option and example of hard and soft lighting to see what they would prefer for the interview segments. The vast majority chose soft lighting which was ideal for my as that was the lighting I wanted to do. I wasn’t sure what music I should have playing in the background so I gave the audiences a choice of different types of music to fit with a nostalgic feel and the majority of people had cosen calm.

I fianlly asked what people’s favourite documentaries are as well as their favourite styles so I could get an idea of what audiences would like to see. I will be looking further into documentaries and how they are made so I can ensure that mine look professional.

Leave a comment

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started